What I’m Packing for Cycling around Lofoten

Tomorrow my father and I fly north to cycle around the Lofoten islands for a week. Initially I thought I would have to go by myself, but now that we’ve done most of the packing I’m very happy that I have my father with me. First, he is a more experienced biker than I am (I was never fond of my bike), so he has been on a few cycling trips before to Denmark and Italy. Second, we can split our things on two bikes. Admittedly, this only saves me a little luggage than if I had done this alone, but since we are bringing a tent etc. for sleeping outdoors he will probably carry most of the heavy stuff. Also this trip requires a fair share of equipment that I didn’t have, but my parents either already possessed from previous trips or my father enthusiastically bought with this trip in mind. Such as bike-bags that allows us to send the bikes as regular luggage.

2016-08-01 15.42.46

Mutual packing list:

  • Bikes
  • Helmet
  • Tent
  • Sleeping bag
  • Sleeping mat
  • Trangia, fuel and lighter
  • Plates, cups and cutlery
  • Torch

Personal packing list:

  • 1 x Shell jacket against water and wind
  • 1 x Rain trousers
  • 1 x Wind-shielding jacket and tights for cycling
  • 1 x Cycling shorts
  • 2 x Sports t-shirts
  • 1 x Sports bra
  • 1 x Pair of shorts
  • 1 x Technical base layer
  • 1 x Wool layer
  • 1 x Gore-Tex shoes for cycling and hiking
  • 1 x Camping/sleeping outfit (A t-shirt and warm-ish trousers)
  • 1 x Sandals/Light, easy shoes for camp
  • 1 x Woolen socks
  • 6 x Underwear and socks
  • 1 x Fleece
  • 1 x Swim wear
  • 1 x Towel
  • 1 x Gloves, buff and hat
  • 1 x Daypack to take on hikes
  • Toiletries and hair ties/pins
  • Sunscreen
  • Electronics (Camera, phone, power-banks and chargers)
  • Book and notebook

 

Leave a comment